2000-08-22

LOVE THY MEGAN

The city was smoky today, this thick cloud of yellowy gray haze hung over blowing in from the west.It was quite surreal waking up to a heavy cloud hanging in the still air. really erry. The first thing I tasted this morning was smoke, sitting in the back of my throat stinging, and probably will be the last thing I taste before I go to bed tonight.

I got to thinking today about what life used to be like, the movie star like of a 50's actress. What an amazing existance that would have been, I guess I've just been listening to too much Billie Holiday. Billie Holiday makes me happy, she is the perfect night time music, I feel like I am in an old movie with Audrey and Gregory Peck and we are all sitting around smoking cigars and Audrey and I am wearing diamonds. There is some coffee brewing and we are in a New York apartment looking out over the bustling city.

Billie has the weird effect on my that makes me very sentimental and desiring to be in the city in front of an open fire with the world at my feet. I think thats really what that era was about, having the world at your feet. Dreams were possible then, they were with in reach. Diamonds weren't worn before 6pm and no one really needed a real job.

theres that quote

Fred Astire danced

Bertolt Brecht wrote plays

and Billie Holiday sang,

thats just the way life was.

It's such a beautiful daydream... maybe it will be a realoty one day soon, maybhe someday.

.

the then the now