2001-11-18

LOVE THY MEGAN

" Watch my make up my mind instead of my face" Sleater-Kinney

Tonight's Music: Sleater-kinney

Tonight's Mood: random nights.

Last night was an unexpected good. This is a rarity, but just sometimes people and places surprise me.

I went out with Miss Emma (starlet*) from work, she had thing with her muso friends. These friends turned out to be more than a little bit lovely.

These boys and girls at ages 19-23 are studying to be composers and professional classical performers and were so clear in their path and their passion. They made me smile just listening to their babble about octaves, and patterns and composers.

Refreshing. They knew what they want, are doing it, are settled and they totally live it. We went back to one boys pad and he had all these half finished sheets of music he was writing tacked to his walls and strewn across the floor.

Such a change from the guitar babble I usally hear, and all the indescretions and all the uncertainty that I am usually surrounded by. A change from the boys that avoid their girlfriends, the girls that think that sleeping with band members will envoke credibility, the scene that both loves and hates itself....

but at times last night I missed it........

I missed hearing a song and everyone going "bahhhhh I have this on a compilation and (insert indie band) does a cover of it!!!"

I missed being able to explain myself in no uncertain terms when I heard the live band playing in the beer garden. These people dismissed it all as POP MUSIC, a huge generalisation, they just grouped all modern music together, except jazz and immediatly it was forgotten.

This startled me, because in all my love of pop music I haven't dismissed other eras and genres.

I was the novelty due to my love of jazz.

I think that to realise there are other people that feel something, that immerse themselves in something made me feel really good. Even though it's not the same as what I am immerse in, it's okay, they have passion and fight and dreams, and hopes and futures.

and I just wish that this could be realised on a more regular basis, that I could meet people and really say "hey you have it". It being something that makes their lives a special adventure, something that shapes people around them and something that makes they unique and undefinable.

I want to be undefinable.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I just made up an online love song. the ones where you give a list of words and through the 'powers' of online geekdom a love song is produced, glowing on your screen. There was one really lovely line We are like 13 COCKTAILS by a POOLSIDE Oh yeah honey, We are like 13 COCKTAILS by a POOLSIDE .

the then the now