2003-04-18

LOVE THY MEGAN

glowing.

outside the moon is huge and yellow white, not quite a perfect whole a little sliver missing beaming bright into black night.

as a little child my grandma in hushed tones would tell me about the moon, that it was made of nougat, the very same kind that was in her cupboard.

next time I saw a moon like that, big and round I told my mother that one day

I'd go there and bring some back for grandma to eat.

after this grandma stopped telling me stories about the moon, when she would tell me other things, she would speak very low and very close so that only I would hear. sometimes she would tell me that I should keep what she told me inside when I was around mum.

Grandma knew all kinds of things, perhaps the only thing she should not have taught me was spelling... english being her 2nd language, I had the most interesting spelling on my homework for the better half of primary school.

tonight she gripped my cold hand in hers and everything went quiet and soft and calm.

she whispered in my ear in 'your heart is strong'.

she glows like the moon.

.

the then the now