2001-08-14

LOVE THY MEGAN

Tonight's Music: Belle and Sebastian (but Mouldy Peaches is running circles around my head)

Tonight's nail colour: Little Rose

Tonight's Mood: Starry Starry nights

The day, which could have been the most rotten turned into a blissful adventure filled with twists turns and chance character meetings.

It's Annaki Tuesday afternoon. It's going to be come a tradition.

I wore pearls

We meet in the city, for records. Find, order, or lament then move into the valley.

We treked a few kilmetres to find chick pea salads in the neo industrial yuppie area. It's strange how snack bars suddenly become gourmet, and corner stores become deli's before you even blink.

We then discovered this earthy cake shop. We bought these darling plastic cake decorations, like little platic babies sleeping on pillows, bunches of ballons and tiny pink doves.

Annaki bought a Simaese Fighting Fish. It's lovely. He doesn't have a name yet, I suggested George, and Patrick later suggested FLASH but as yet he is anon. We did name the snail that will sit in his tank though, her name is EVIE and she is shiny.

WE had sorbet. On the way back we found a cigar shop. neither of us had ever had a cigar before, so we bought one after much deliberation as to which kind.

It was cuban, and in English it's name translated to Romeo and Juliet fine Cuban Cigars.

That made me smile. I'm such a romantic

Then we bought lovely old wooden cigar boxes as memrobilia, and smoked into the sunset,(and took photos)to catch our repsetive buses home.

----------------------------------------

We spoke of the Katie girls. You know that episode of Sex and the City when They are talking about the film "The Way We Were".

Carrie says that there are the simple girls and the katie Girls. The Katie girls are all sassy yet too complicated.

And Boys are scared of the Katie girls, so they chose a simple girl.

I think thats it.

I wear my heart openly, like a badge of honour, I wear my pearls, and my pink ribbons, and tote around my red clutch with the buttons.

And they all stare.

And the boys are with the simple girls, with their simple hair and their simple minds.

Or the skinny girs who only talk about bands. Bands which they think will make them endearing to the punk rock boys.

So along I go, continiung to be who I am, because I think eventually, it might go my way. And the Katie Girls will come out on top.

And the skinny simple girls will long to be that which they have never understood.

You need some oddity in a world which is become too plain too fast.

.

the then the now