2001-09-12

LOVE THY MEGAN

Today I woke up and the world had changed.

I sit glued to the television as plane after plane crashes.

Glued for hours more as workers flee the World Trade Center, as it crashes down and traps hundreds of fire fighters and people.

Then there is the dust clouds, thick, cosuming, slowy rising hunting down the residents.

This is not an act of terrorism.

This is an act of war.

For too long it seems we have lived in a shell where no one could harm us. Then this.

I never thought I'd see scenes like this, scenes that my grandmother describes from Holland during World War 2. Scenes created by pure evil and driven by intense hatred.

I thought it could never happen, I thought it only happend in movies.

I watch the live updates.

More carnage.

People jumping from buildings, from hundreds of floors above rather than trying to flee because death is already a certainty.

For once there is no bravado. There is nothing but humanity. The tragedy is so great that there is no cowering.

There is no explanation, no tightly woven story for the media to roll out, no answers to the endless questions.

There is nothing but loss. Complete loss.

.

the then the now