2001-10-05

LOVE THY MEGAN

"I'm coming back to you.... ohhh I'm coming back to you, you can come back to me" Gerling.

Another talk show about 'wild teens'. There must be some formula, some calculated formula for these shows.

Step One:Teens come out looking trash.

Step Two: Teens swear, mouth off.

Step Three:Host threatens to kick them off.

Step Four:Teens relatives cry.

Step Five: Audience abuse teen

Step Six: Boot camp guy comes out

Step Seven: Teen is 'magically' reformed.

Step Eight: Roll credits

These shows are on every cable channel. I guess thats the appeal of cable. Mindless repitition. You figure, that you can go out and do errands cause you know when you get back another version of the same who will be showing.

Jesus Christ.

Yeah and I know I could tune out. But it sucks me in and for the life of me I have to keep watching just to see how 'wild' these teens can get!!!

I guess thats how the ratings go, it pulls people in who watch simply for the sake of waiting to see if anything big happens. Like Big Brother, Survivor and the rest of those 'reality' tv shows.

You have to watch for fear of missing something vital.

Sure they might sit about drink, play in the pool and feed the chickens 97% of the time.. But that other 3% they might be doing something sexy, raunchy or violent.

And thats what we hang on for...

Like those in the past hung on for the final climax in a great play, the last note of a concerto. We sit by the tv trying to find a resolution to these shows, to this constructed 'reality' to these peoples 'lives'.

Then I realise that there is no resolution. There is no end.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- and Jack just came online and said "I saw pop boy today and have established that he's not gay... I think" and I said "tell me"" Jack: "ha ha later" this is not fucking fair If he was with another girl, obviosuly something had to happen for jack to know that he's not gay. There was obviously some physical contact. I am fucking freaking out. what if the only boy I been immensly ravenously attracted to in ages.. the boy who I am sure, am putting all my bets on as my swan has a girl. The boy who makes going to UNI worthwhile just to see his outfits. I hope that the girl chokes. How dare she steal my swan. This is paranoia. I just have to wait until jack comes back online and it'll be okay..... fuck .

the then the now