2001-10-24

LOVE THY MEGAN

This is what we were listening to on the weekend just passed. It's one of those songs that just sits in your head and keeps playing on repeat and her voice is so lovely and clear that you may never escape.

And I guess the sentiment is one that we all feel at one time or another. Feeling inadequate and feeling like you don't know enough to join the conversation, like you don't known enough to talk shop..... like you don't fit in.

But it's this world that I fit into......the one that mary doesn't.

and reading this makes me glad to be part of it, and maybe it will make some of you glad too.

"His Indie World" By Mary Lou Lord

I don't think I fit into his indie world

Guided By Voices and Velocity

Girl

Eric's Trip

and Rocketship

Rancid and

Rocket From The Crypt

Bikini

Kill and Built to Spill

It's plain to see that I don't fit

He says my songs are too dark and gloomy

he wishes that I could be more like Jenny

Toomey

Just give me my Joni,

my Nick, Neil and Bob

You can keep your Tsunami,

your Slant 6

and Smog

What's the story? he said, Butterglory

What's the news? He said the Silver Jews

His Heavenly hangup is getting me down

and it's making me wonder why he's hanging around

cause I don't fit into this indie scene

Huggy Bear and Helium and Half Japanese

Sebadoh and Sentridoh

and Superchunk

and I don't know

Doug and Lou and Calvin too

and Kim and Kim and Kim and Kim

Well he's stuck in the past

and I'm stuck on his four track

but I can't get through to his one-track mind

I push play and record and a major chord

maybe I will win his heart this time, yeah

maybe I'll win his heart this time

.

the then the now