2001-11-13

LOVE THY MEGAN

"It's going be a nice day, nice day, nice day, and everytime time I see you it's going be a nice day....." The Salteens

Tonight's Music : The Salteens

Tonight's Mood: The weekend, the boat and the rain

This weekend was special, very special indeed.

Saturday night arrived at annakis. Miss Marni, Miss Annaki and Miss Megan, looking lovey and excited.

and the laughter starts.

went into the valley for dinner before the gig. Checking out boys in the mall annaki spots some interest. "hey there are two shaggy haired lil somethings... ........ oh wait, shit yuk it's Jebediah!!!!". Ewwwws were shared all round.

Met up with other pop darlings in amongst the largely shit crowd lining up. We hear the gigs sold out, with only a few tickets at the door, who would have thought?!

We got in and made a beeline for the merch stand. Here comes the excitment, the salteens were manning their own merch stand, and were just so sweet and excited that we were buying stuff. $110 later, we were done laden with merch and grinning and left stunned salteens members scratching their heads.

Salteens go on. WE are up the front. There are only about 10 or so of us there who actually know who they are and their brilliance. We try and supress singing along, but we clap and laugh and enjoy. They were amazing, the energy of Sloan the rock moves and kicks of The Strokes the cuteness of the best shaggy haired something you have EVER laid eyes on. Magical. we learn Canadian slang. Apprently in Canada when you say ohhhh or ahhhhh to express your feelings for something good you instead add random noises to the end... like "ooooooonst" or "ahhhhhbada".

note: ooooonst is my new catch cry

During the set change we were in the bathroom and two girls from high school who used to snub me were coming in as we were leaving. They poked me and said "hey megan" I just say hi and with my back to them asked " who are you here to see?" they replyed "jebediah" I said "uh huh" and slammed the door! YEAH it was the best snub ever, years worth of their snubbing didn't beat that!!!

Sekiden are up next. Possibly the BEST I have ever seen them. So pop so rock, so lovely. We sang along to every word, screamed and danced and giggled. They were supreme. Simon was looming over the crowd at one point and girlies were reaching up to try and touch him.... awwwww they wanted to touch him....... thats so GREAT!!!!!!!!! I have never seen that happen during one of their sets before.

we left. strolled around the valley for a bit, talked to Seja and Simon. Had some drinks, met some emo boys. then decided to walk home. Then there was the key debackle when annaki had marni's keys instead of hers. So we begin the journey to reclaim the keys and finally fell inot bed around 4am.

woke up in time to dress for radio. Mirko bought Scott and Megan from The Salteens into Annaki and Miss Marni's radio shift. They were lovely. Cute and really nice , told great stories on and off air, and genuninly said that they had had a good time and thanked everyone. Mirko was so lovely to drive them in , and when he came in (cause I have never formally met him) he says "hey I'm Mirko". I find this amusing.

One thing scott said that stuck was the phrase "indier than thou". can you diggit, I did in a BIG way.

ohhh and Simon prank called the shift and said "hey this is simon ooooonst" and hang up in annakis ear.

Next the boat cruise. The weather changed DRAMATICALLY from the time we go into the shift and when we left. It began to pour and storm. The boat went on all the same.

There was a tenseness right from the start on the dock. Too little popsters too many punkers. Too many pre-existing tensions between groups and relationships and things you remember from when you were 15.

Than bands were good, I even felt at one stage that I was 15.

The storm was almost forshadowing the, feelings that were to emerge.

Let this be said.

Girls give up their right to stand up the front and sing along to a band when they broke said band boys heart. Totally abrogated that right, and the wrongness in continuing to indulge in this right is unspeakable.

The tenseness might now become apprent. Girls can be so shit it hurts. Yet they are moreso dissapointing when they don't react to certain situations, just turn off. screaming and crying or spitting and hissing is better than turning off.

There was alot of turning off on the boat. For those who didn't get this feeling they are lucky, and despite the wind squals and heavy driving rain they might have a had a good time.

I just got drunk and played in the rain, and tried to forget the aformentioned scenes being played out on the lower deck.

We got off with the bands. In the rain, there was much drunkenness, and certain parties who ALWAYS lose their bags, thats right, lost their bag AGAIN. It's becoming a ritual.

I walked over to the car and The Dashboard Confessional was playing. I screamed the lyrics as I got closer, until told to let the band sing it for themselves.

Pete was being cute in the car telling us to "turn off the emotional music, it makes me fucking bawl my eyes out!!!" and later when he was eating pizza and we were cold and wet right through ..

Pete said 'I want my mum, she'd make me food.... I'm cold.. and wet." (then he realised he had food) 'hang on, i've got food, FUCK YOU MUM'.

we got dropped home, cold and wet and tired from 3 hours sleep trying to deal with the mess that had occured.

I can only write about it now on Tuesday.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Annaki called me and told me that Lucas had a car accident just after he dropped us off. and it hit right where pete was. All is okay though, despite him now being in debt for the next 28 yrs or so.

my heart stopped when I read this.

It might have been different if we were in the car.

.

the then the now