2002-03-26

LOVE THY MEGAN

"I was born with an enormous need for affection, and a terrible need to give it." -audrey hepburn.

Thank-you for putting me so elequently Miss Hepburn.

I woke up early and played dress ups with my thrift store finds of the last few days. Hours of make-up and mary janes and scarves and pearls, looking for the illusive perfect outfit.

The perfect outfit is defined by the way it makes me feel just as much as the way it makes me look. The clincher to the outfit is not taking it off, not wanting to ever, wanting to wear it always and pulling millions of faces in the mirror before lovingly remembering the exact combination down to my lipstick shade and placing each item back into the closet.

I found three perfect outfits this morning, I love how my new clothes and my thrift clothes mix together so well, and that when I buy another piece it slots nicely into a pre-existing outfit and makes it killer.

Then I felt the desire to take all my clothes, hosery and scarves from my room and wash every single item..... and I did.

cleaned my room and my beads and my belts and my shoes.

made my haircut appointment.

because Miss Megan is starting over.

Then I decided for a change to get out my dads mother's (my grandmothers) old Greek Cookbook, and to cook greek for a change, because I rarely do this and there is already plenty of dutch goodies in my house.

I made Baklava, and anyone who has had the real stuff will never eat that cafe crap they are serving up EVER again. and also vine leaf parcels because Miss Anna was asking me about them a while ago, and I had never given them a shot. and Oh dear Marilyn in heaven they are lovely!!!

Right now I am making a Korma sweet curry with Chick Peas and jasmine rice for dinner... it smells so great.. I find cooking the most relaxing and sensual thing. I love it.

and later I am going to have a huge bubble bath and make another pot of dandeline tea and settle in with anais nin.

oooooooossssssstttttt.

.

the then the now